HARD COPY

What do you do if your book is not regarded by agents and publishers as ‘commercial’ enough for them to take a risk on?  You self-publish.  Everyone is doing it.  It’s a bit daunting at first of course.  However, I made a snap decision in March to get it out there as a Kindle version.  It’s pretty easy to do and costs nothing.  I’ve sold about 25 copies of the Kindle version.  It’s cheap and it has errors in it still but it’s a liberating experience and it gets your work noticed.  A few  reviews in Amazon and Goodreads will do no harm, as well as those kind souls who blog reviews, to whom I am very grateful – in particular Debbie Brown in English Historical Fiction Authors, Kathryn Kane in The Regency Redingote and Mike Rendell in Georgian Gentleman. If I hadn’t taken the plunge with the Kindle version I rather doubt that I would have embarked on the next hurdle – a hard copy version.  For this I persuaded Sarah Jean Waldock to help, since she knows the ropes, having published a dozen or so historical novels.  Sarah is doing the layout and between us we are quite close to having an acceptable text.  There are also extra appendices which are not in the Kindle version.   Then Sarah will design the back cover and we can then submit the book to CreateSpace.  Then there will be a proof copy and no doubt several iterations to correct previously-missed errors. I’m not sure how long all this will take, but it’s very exciting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HARD COPY

  1. I’m amazed it’s not sold more, it’s a good book, though personally I AM looking forward to a hard copy – a great incentive to me to iron out all those little issues! [and for those people who hate the word ‘issues’ they really are issues, not problems.]

  2. chasbaz says:

    I’m probably not touting it enough but I will certainly be putting a lot more effort into marketing the hard copy.

  3. Didier Bazalgette says:

    I promise to purchase it !

  4. chasbaz says:

    Merci mille fois, Didier!

  5. Jan Western says:

    I will definitely be purchasing a hard copy as the Georgian and Regency are my most favourite historical eras! 🙂

  6. chasbaz says:

    You will see it is now available. Hope you find it interesting, Jan. And thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

