TAILORING ACCOUNTS FINALLY ALL TRANSCRIBED!

274crop

Over the last seven months I have been transcribing all of the tailoring accounts presented by Louis Bazalgette to the Prince of Wales between the middle of 1786 and the middle of 1795.

This task is now finally complete, and comprises 226 pages in its transcribed form.

Since these are not Crown Copyright (since they were produced by a tradesman and not by an employee of the Crown), I shall be able to reproduce them as appendices in the book.

It will make for a fatter book, but there seemed little point in trying to publish them separately.  I shall have to see if by enlarging the page format and decreasing the font size I can come up with an affordable book.  I think this data is so important that it has to be made available.   The task now is to analyze all of this information and then to start to incorporate some of it into the story.  For instance, when the Prince ordered a Kempshot Hunt frock I know where he will be off to in a few days.  Matching some of the more splendid costumes with events such as balls or royal birthdays is an interesting task, and will probably involve much scanning of court circulars.

It feels odd to have finally finished this mammoth job.  A break to regroup is indicated!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TAILORING ACCOUNTS FINALLY ALL TRANSCRIBED!

  1. nicholasstorey says:

    Congratulations on this. I know just how much effort these tasks require and I suspect that, as well as a sense of achievement, you will now find that there is a gap in your day!

  2. Charles Bazalgette says:

    Good to hear from you, Nicholas, and thanks for your encouragement. If there is a gap, and I doubt it, there is more than enough outstanding work to fill it many times over! Best of luck with your book – I mean the one you have just finished. I promise myself a lull when I get to that stage.

  3. Charles Bazalgette says:

    Maybe you would pay more but I’m not sure that other readers would. I will make tham available on a CD for a modest price. The good thing about that is that the data could easily be loaded into a database as well as being searchable.

  4. Charles Bazalgette says:

    The prices of all the fabrics used are in the accounts, as you will see from the snippets I have placed in my blogs. However, whether Louis overcharged is not clear. Certain fabrics like Gobelin were obviously imported so he could charge what he liked, and probably did.

  5. Charles Bazalgette says:

    It seems he kept an agent in Paris throughout the wars. It would be very interesting to find out all the logistics of buying and shipping the cloth, but I haven’t succeeded. And, well, superior drawers for the royal tender parts… no doubt they were made with great care by a trusted local seamstress.

Leave a Reply

